#DeenTalk: Ramadan as a New Mum

Hey loves and Ramadan Mubarak. We are in the final third of Ramadan and now is the time to pull back and get oneself together. It seems like yesterday we were preparing and praying for the grace to see the start of Ramadan and now it’s almost over. 

Ramadan as a new mum, and a nursing one at that matter, has been a tad trying for me. One minute I feel like I’m catching up, the next minute I’m a complete and utter mess. Most times I feel like I’m struggling to keep up my Ibadah. For this final lap of Ramadan, I’m taking a step back and exhaling. I need to find my life for just these last 10 days.

The last ten days are pretty important as we get the chance of Laylatul Qadr, the Night of Decree. No matter how hard Ramadan has been for you, whether as a mum or not, or you’ve just been sick or swamped with work, these last ten days are a chance to reassess our intentions and actions and hope to Allah that we gain the best out of them.

Here are some tips on how I intend to maximize the rest of Ramadan.

Make Dua everywhere and anytime: I can be pretty square sometimes and worship is not left out. Most times, I think I have to wait till I’m on my mat or in salah before I can pray. But then I remember how close Allah is to us. 

 “And We have already created man and know what his soul whispers to him, and We are closer to him than [his] jugular vein” – Q50:16

It’s something I’m still trying to imbibe but now I try to pray when driving or walking or just doing anything that doesn’t involve too much distraction. Let out your dua anytime you think about it. It doesn’t matter where you are (maybe except the toilet lol) but if you wait until you are all prepped up on your mat, you might forget that really important thing you needed to say to Allah. 

Turn off the Static: We’ve got our phones, tvs, the Internet and as helpful as they may seem, they can be huge sources of distractions. Those few minutes when I’m nursing, I pick up my phone to catch up on social media or just plain rubbish. I know the time for certain TV shows by heart. We don’t need that this time. Turn it off! Even if it’s just for a couple of hours to focus on the deen, it would be a couple of hours without any unnecessary interruption. 

Read and Listen to the Quran: Listening to the Quran for me is total bliss. It’s all about that free time. I might be meal prepping or nursing or driving and instead of letting that time pass me by, listening to the Quran on my phone helps me improve my relationship with it. Listening to lectures during my free time too is great. One of my absolute faves is Mufti Menk’s Podcast on Muslim Central and there’s one each day in Ramadan. 

Read the translation and understand the verses. Read the tafsir. The month of Ramadan was when the Quran was revealed (Q97 V1) and what better time to improve your relationship with it than now.

Look for Laylatul Qadr: Waking up at night is hard for everyone, I know. Purify your intentions again. Then Set an alarm. Make that two or three. I’m not the best at waking up at night especially when my baby doesn’t seem to cooperate on some nights but I’ve figured that sticking to the same bedtime routine each day helps you wake up on time. Ask Allah to help you witness Laylatul Qadr and In sha Allah He will. 

Focus on your obligatory deeds: Maybe it’s waking up for Fajr. Maybe it’s praying on time. Focus on performing those deeds to the best of your ability. What good is it focusing on the voluntary acts of worship when we are struggling with our obligations? And what better time to perfect them than now? 

The Night of Decree is better than a thousand months.

Q97 V 3

Don’t also forget to recite the Dua recommended by the Prophet (SAW) during this time:

Allahumma innaka ‘afuwwun, tuhibbul-‘afwa, fa’fu ‘anni 

(O Allah, You are Most Forgiving, and You love forgiveness; so forgive me)

May Allah (SWT) grant us success this Ramadan and may we see many more. 

What other tips/hacks do you have for this last 10 days? Share in the comments please. 

Until next time loves, 

Ramadan Mubarak! Xoxo

Hadiza❤️

Leave a Reply

