Be Selfish

Hello lavs!
How are you guys doing with your ‘resolutions’? The first month in 2015 is already over (pretty quick, huh?), and sadly a lot of us have dropped half of our ‘resolutions’ already.

It’s kinda obvious that I’m always talking about goals and self improvement. I’m all about that. But the truth, while it is fun to write down all the things you intended to achieve in the future, it is a lot harder and a lot less fun actually working to fulfil those goals.

It’s February 1st and I’m sure some of us expected a sudden change in our characters, our weights, and everything we wished for in general. Honey, it took you about 9 months to be made, it took you a whole lot more time to develop the habits you have now, so it is going to take even more time to achieve your goals. It has to be a conscious effort. You will fall and get up again. That’s what makes your journey unique and exciting. Even when you love what you have started, creating time for it might be very hard.

So today, for the month of February, I want to leave you (and me first) with a couple of advices.

1. Make your goals realistic for you. A friend of mine told me to join her in reading 200 books this year. As much as I love to read, I just do not have enough time at the moment. I have not even finished the first book I started. So, I told myself, I would read as much as I can this year. I have to be realistic and understand that I have a lot on my plate right now. That way, even if I don’t read up to 200 books, I won’t feel like I failed at my goal.

2. Make your goals fun and pleasurable. If you have a goal that seems like the one I mentioned above, after a while it begins to look like a chore. All the fun gets taken out of it because you have put yourself in a box. Relax. Take it easy on yourself. There are tons of things daily that stress us out already.

3. Do it for you. Not for your friends. Not for your partner. Not for social media. Make a change for you. Whether it is losing weight or travelling more, do it because you want to. Not because everyone is doing it or someone says you should.

4. Everyday do something that gets you closer to your goal.

Overall, when it involves improving ourselves, we have to be ready to fight like hell to do it. Whether it is working out daily, eating healthier, quitting alcohol, it is not going to be easy.
So take a minute and think about your goals again. Ask yourself why you want to engage in those particular things. Take a big breath. Be selfish. Make those goals about yourself first. Put yourself first. Embrace your journey.
Trust me, it would work out this time.
In sha Allah.

Ciao!

5 thoughts on “Be Selfish

  1. Well Said, and nicely written…. There is also the SMART acronym for helping with setting goals too… Where the S=Specific, M=Measurable, A=Achievable, R= Realistic, T= Timeline

Leave a Reply

